CSP Wins Top Business Press Award

2012 Category Management Handbook wins Jesse H. Neal Award for Best Theme Issue

OAK BROOK, Ill. -- CSP Business Media's flagship publication, CSP magazine, has won what is considered the Pulitzer Prize of business-to-business publishing, the Jesse H. Neal Award from American Business Media (ABM).

CSP's Category Management Handbook, edited by senior editor Samantha Oller and director of editorial production Jennifer Bulat, with design director Abbey Lewis, CSP correspondent Samantha Murphey and former CSP designer Jerimiah Brown, won the top prize in the category of Best Theme Issue of a Magazine. Now in its 11th year of production, the handbook has been nominated for or won awards nearly every year since 2003.

"We are honored to be recognized by American Business Media. This award acknowledges our dedication to delivering best-in-class publications and is a testament to the high level of achievement of CSP's editors and designers," said Mike Wood, CEO of CSP Business Media.

"In the convenience channel, it's all about turns and transactions, how fast I can move my merchandise. CMH has become the authoritative resource in quantifying which products are producing and which ones are eating dust," said CSP vice presdent and group editor Mitch Morrison.

"The Category Management Handbook is a massive undertaking that takes more than three months to produce and involves numerous vendors and staff," he added. "We are indebted to all of our data partners, especially SymphonyIRI, McLane and Mintel."

Two other features were nominated for awards by ABM. Senior editor Angel Abcede's extensive look at 7-Eleven CEO Joe DePinto, the cover story of the December 2011 issue of CSP magazine, was nominated in the category of Best Profile. DePinto was CSP's 2011 Retail Leader of the Year. "The Social Media 50"--the cover story of the April 2012 issue of Restaurant Business, by Patricia Cobe, Amanda C. Kooser, Peter Romeo, Sam Smith and Amanda M. Westbrooks--was nominated in the category of Best Subject-Related Package.

"Seeing the caliber of fellow finalists, never mind the winners, it was clearly an honor just to be at the awards ceremony," said Romeo, vice president of content for CSP Business Media’s foodservice group. "If Jennifer Lawrence had seen the quality of journalism that was present in the room, she would've fallen twice."

The winners in the 59th Annual Jesse H. Neal Awards competition were announced March 12 at a ceremony in New York.

Oak Brook, Ill.-based CSP Business Media LLC, publisher of CSP, FoodService Director and Restaurant Business magazines, is a business-to-business communication company specializing in the convenience retailing, restaurant and on-the-go food industries. In addition to its print products, CSP Business Media's two divisions (Convenience & Petroleum Retailing Group and Foodservice Group) produces multiple e-newsletters (including CSP Daily News), websites, CSPNetwork CyberConferences, CSPTV, CSPedia, CSP Leadership Conferences and CSP Custom Solutions.