New Kum & Go COO Comes from Starbucks, Target

Fills vacancy left by Folden’s retirement

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- A former Starbucks and Target executive will fill Dennis Folden’s shoes as chief operating officer at Kum & Go L.C.

Mark Hasting was named the West Des Moines, Iowa-based convenience store chain’s new COO effective immediately, as reported in a Raymond James/CSP Daily News Flash Tuesday.

In his role at Kum & Go, Hasting will be responsible for providing executive leadership and management of Kum & Go’s store operations. He will also leverage strategic relationships on behalf of the company.

Hasting joins Kum & Go from Starbucks where he served as regional vice president since 2010. Prior to Starbucks, he served as vice president of store operations at Target Corp., where he oversaw the finances, processes and structure of 1,700 stores.

It was Hasting’s extensive experience within the retail industry, along with his expertise in operational strategy that made him the perfect fit as Kum & Go’s new COO, according to CEO Kyle Krause.

“Kum & Go is experiencing tremendous growth across the 11 different states in which we do business,” Krause said. “I am excited to have Mark join our senior management team. His experience and wealth of knowledge in the retail industry will allow him to make an immediate impact at Kum & Go.”

A graduate of Oklahoma State University, Hasting received a bachelor’s degree in marketing. He went on to obtain his master of business administration from Oklahoma City University. Hasting, along with his wife and three sons, will be relocating to the Des Moines area from Minneapolis.

Hasting fills the position left vacant by Folden’s retirement on Aug. 31. Folden worked for Kum & Go for more than 40 years.

Kum & Go is the fifth-largest privately held, company-operated convenience store chain in the United States. The family-owned company began in 1959 in Hampton, Iowa, and has grown to more than 400 convenience stores in 11 states (Iowa, Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wyoming).