General Merchandise/HBC

Category Manager of the Year Winners Announced at CRU

Nine retailers, chosen by their supplier partners, win this year’s prestigious award

GLENDALE, Ariz. -- They are the tireless CEOs of their categories, leveraging instinct, insight and intelligence to drive traffic, loyalty and sales. As the leading provider of category insights in the convenience-retailing industry, CSP magazine is proud to announce the winners of the 2017 Category Manager of the Year awards.

This year’s winners were nominated last summer by their supplier and wholesale partners, who then voted for winners in nine key in-store categories. The annual awards culminated on the General Session stage of the 2017 Convenience Retailing University (CRU) in Glendale, Ariz., where winners were revealed to attendees and finalists alike.

“We began these awards as a way to celebrate the women and men who live and breathe their categories,” said Abbie Westra, Chicago-based Winsight’s director of retail content, during the award ceremony. “They straddle the store and the corporate offices. They know their vendors, their ops team, the IT guy and most of all, they know their guests. They truly understand what’s really resonating with today’s consumers.”

All of the finalists were great contenders in their respective categories, and Winsight thanks all the suppliers and wholesalers who nominated and voted to show their support. We look forward to seeing who wins in 2018. Congratulations on this achievement!

Alcohol BeveragesJohn DeichlerMurphy USA
CandyFelix OliuMurphy USA
Dispensed BeveragesConnie KelehanKum & Go
FoodserviceTara AndersonHoliday Stationstores
General MerchandiseSteven DesautelsMurphy USA
OTPMike NelsonMapco 
Packaged BeveragesDamian WyattMapco 
SnacksTim BurnerHoliday Stationstores
TobaccoRuth Ann LillySunoco Inc. 


Members help make our journalism possible. Become a CSP member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.


More from our partners