Mergers & Acquisitions

Marathon Petroleum Names Post-Merger Leadership

Team includes executives from both MPC and Andeavor

FINDLAY, Ohio -- Marathon Petroleum Corp. (MPC) has named the executive team that will lead the company upon the closing of the combination of MPC and Andeavor. The new team leading the refining, marketing and midstream company will include executives from both MPC and Andeavor.

As previously announced, Gary Heminger will continue as MPC's chairman and CEO. "This executive team represents unparalleled business acumen and a steadfast commitment to our core values," said Heminger. "Both MPC and Andeavor are successful companies with excellent track records, and these leaders will enable us to deliver on the full potential of this powerful combination."

The leadership team, consisting of seven executives from MPC and three from Andeavor, will include:

  • Gregory Goff, executive vice chairman. Currently chairman, president and CEO of Andeavor, Goff will have responsibility for MPC's information technology, commercial and business development, strategy and corporate affairs functions.
  • Donald Templin, president of refining, marketing and supply. Currently president of MPC, Templin will have responsibility for MPC's refining, crude and feedstock supply, product distribution, marketing, environment and safety and supply chain functions.
  • Anthony Kenney, president of Speedway LLC. Currently president of Speedway LLC, Kenney will have responsibility for all company-owned and -operated convenience stores.
  • Michael Hennigan, president of MPLX LP, the midstream master limited partnership (MLP); he retains his current title.
  • Timothy Griffith, senior vice president and CFO. Currently MPC senior vice president and CFO, Griffith will have responsibility for MPC's controller, audit, tax, treasurer and budget and analysis functions.
  • Don Sorensen, president of Andeavor Logistics LP (ANDX). Sorensen currently is senior vice president of ANDX.

MPC expects to close the transaction in the second half of 2018, subject to regulatory and other customary closing conditions.

With a six-refinery system, Findlay, Ohio-based MPC is the nation's second-largest refiner. Marathon-brand gasoline is sold through approximately 5,600 independently owned gas stations in 20 states and the District of Columbia. Speedway LLC, Enon, Ohio, an MPC subsidiary, owns and operates the Speedway convenience-store chain with approximately 2,740 stores in 22 states. MPC owns the general partner of MPLX.

San Antonio-based Andeavor is an integrated marketing, logistics and refining company. It operates 10 refineries. Andeavor's retail marketing system includes more than 3,200 c-stores marketed under fuel brands including Arco, SuperAmerica, Shell, Exxon, Mobil, Tesoro, USA Gasoline and Giant. It also owns ANDX.

Members help make our journalism possible. Become a CSP member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.


More from our partners