blu eCigs Joins Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing's IndyCar Program

Primary sponsor of Conway's No. 17; associate sponsor of Rahal's No. 15

HILLIARD, Ohio & CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) has announced that the electronic cigarette brand blu eCigs will be the primary sponsor of the No. 17 Indy car driven by 2011 winner Mike Conway at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach race event April 19 to 21, 2013.

In addition, blu eCigs will be an associate sponsor of the team's No. 15 Indy car driven by Graham Rahal for the full 2013 season.

The partnership will include both strategic branding and personal services as blu eCigs will take on a high-profile role in open-wheel racing across the Indy car team.

"We're excited to be breaking into IndyCar racing with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, an iconic organization which has a deep championship legacy in the sport," said Jason Healy, president of blu eCigs. "We've seen a very positive response by fans and crew alike from our previous involvement in motorsports, and feel we can create some really engaging marketing and promotional opportunities and drive excitement throughout the 2013 season."

Since its inception in 2009, Charlotte, N.C.-based blu eCigs has helped introduce e-cigarettes as a new class of smoking alternative to the U.S. market. In April 2012, Lorillard Inc. acquired blu eCigs.

"We are excited to welcome blu eCigs as a partner throughout the 2013 IndyCar season and especially as primary sponsor for our No. 17 car at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach race event," added Bobby Rahal , co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with CBS LATE SHOW host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan . "Indy car racing is a sport that prides itself on innovative designs and superior performance, and we feel blu eCigs is a great fit for the sport and our team."

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing returned to full-time IZOD IndyCar Series competition in 2012 and is beginning its 22nd year of open-wheel competition in 2013.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Hilliard, Ohio, is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, David Letterman and Mike Lanigan.

Members help make our journalism possible. Become a CSP member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.

Related Content


More from our partners