Located on the interstate system across 42 states in the United States and in Canada, publicly traded TravelCenters of America (TA) serves professional truckers, motorists, bus drivers and tour guides and their passengers.

TA and its Petro retail offer provide customers diesel and gasoline fueling services, full- and quick-service restaurants, heavy-truck maintenance services, 24-hour fully stocked convenience stores, electronic communication (Wi-Fi) and other services. In 2010, the company combined its loyalty programs into a single program called Ultra One.

The company acquired 31 Minit Mart c-stores in Kentucky and Tennessee for $67 million from Fred’s Minit Mart LCC, Bowling Green, Ky., in late 2013. That acquisition could lead to more purchases of c-store chains in the 20-to-50-store range, CEO Thomas O'Brien told analysts on the company’s earnings call in June 2014.

Q2 2015 Update

In May, TravelCenters of America LLC acquired 19 gas stations and convenience stores in Missouri and Kansas from GasMart USA, Overland Park, Kansas, for $27 million. TravelCenters said that it expects that the convenience stores at these locations, which average approximately 3,900 square feet in size, will be rebranded as Minit Mart, and that it may add quick-service restaurants at some of these locations.

Q1 2015 Update

TravelCenters of America LLC, operator of TA and Petro Shopping Centers travel centers and Minit Mart convenience stores, announced that it has acquired a total of 26 gasoline stations and convenience stores (20 in Minnesota and six in Kentucky) in two unrelated transactions.  Six stores in western Kentucky were sold to TravelCenters by Golightly & Long LLC, dba Cheers Food & Fuel, and 20 stores in Minnesota were sold by Best Oil Co. of Cloquet, Minn.

Headquarters:Westlake, Ohio
No. of Stores:279
Average Store Size:2,500-4,000 sq. ft.
Rank Last Year:38
States of Operation: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District Of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin