General Merchandise/HBC

CSP Names 2022 Category Manager of the Year Finalists

Voting open across 9 categories; winners to be named during CRU conference
CSP Category Manager of the Year Awards

CHICAGO —CSP is proud to announce the finalists in its 2022 Category Manager of the Year (CMOY) Awards, nominated by the convenience-store supplier community. These are the best of the best from independent, midsize and large chains across the United States.

Between now and Feb. 1, CSP is asking supplier partners to cast their votes to recognize the c-store industry’s finest category managers. Winners are chosen in nine key c-store segments. Winners will be announced during the 2022 Convenience Retailing University conference, to be held Feb. 23-25 in Orlando, Fla. The winners will be featured in a special section of CSP magazine’s April issue.

“Consumer needs changed perhaps more than ever before in 2021, making it even more important for category managers to have the right products in the right place to drive sales. And when supply shortages meant out-of-stocks, they had to pivot to meet consumers’ needs,” said Steve Holtz, content director for CSP. “It’s great to see these retailers earn the recognition they deserve for driving sales and building traffic for their chains, and working with their suppliers to make the absolute best of a difficult situation.”

Suppliers nominated dozens of potential finalists at the end of 2021 and, with the help of CSP editors, finalists were chosen based not only on bottom-line results, but also on the knowledge and forecasting abilities of these category managers, who arguably know more about today's consumer than anyone else.

The 2022 finalists for Category Manager of the Year are:

Kraig KnudsenCircle K
Victoria SheppardLove's
Aubrey ThornockMaverik
Alan AdatoYesway
John BunchHuck's Market
Michael TireyCircle K
Kelley GutierrezMAPCO
Peter KemptonTravelCenters of America
Tim YoungNewcomb Oil
Billy ColemireStinker Stores
Nate Louden7-Eleven
Chris VestalWallis Cos.
Ben LuckyWills Group
Sean MillerQuikTrip
Anjuli Wilkie7-Eleven
Shianna PeaceSheetz
Chris RoseLittle General
Art SebastianCasey's General Stores
Bob GulleyCircle KRocky Mountains
John HerbertTrue North
Michael VaralloWawa
Jack LewisGPM Investments
Angela OliverCircle K Coastal Carolinas
Ian Cavanaugh7-Eleven
Jonathan KempMoyle Petroleum
Aisha KhanShashani Inc.

Click here to vote for the finalists. The 2022 Category Manager of the Year Awards are sponsored by Altria Group Distribution Co. Click here to see last year’s winners.

CSP’s 2022 Convenience Retailing University conference will dig deep into category sales trends and best practices. We’ll also name our Category Managers of the Year. Click here to register now.

Members help make our journalism possible. Become a CSP member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.


Exclusive Content

Snacks & Candy

Convenience-Store Shoppers Are Sweet on Private-Label Candy

How 7-Eleven, Love’s are jumping on confection trends


How to Make the C-Store the Hero for Retail Media Success

Here’s what motivates consumers when it comes to in-store and digital advertising

Mergers & Acquisitions

Soft Landing Now, But If Anyone Is Happy, Please Stand Up to Be Seen

Addressing the economic elephants in the room and their impact on M&A


More from our partners