Company News

Now Comes Miller Time

Miller Oil exec succeeds Ricker as NACS chair; new retailers elected to board
ATLANTA -- NACS announced the election of its 2010-11 Executive Committee during its board of directors meeting at the NACS Show in Atlanta. Jeff Miller, president of Norfolk, Va.-based Miller Oil Co. Inc., was named the association's 2010-11 chairman, succeeding Jay Ricker, chairman of Ricker Oil Co., Anderson, Ind. Miller also chairs the NACS Executive Committee, which provides strategic direction and financial oversight to the association.

Miller (pictured), president of Miller Oil Co., became engaged with NACS for two reasons: "I wanted to build a better business and [image-nocss] I wanted to make friends in an industry that I am passionate about," he said in his remarks during the closing general session.(Click here to view a CSPTV interview with Miller outlining his priorities for the new year.)

Also named to the NACS Executive Committee were the following NACS retail members: Vice Chairman-Treasurer: Tom Robinson, president of Santa Clara, Calif.-based Robinson Oil Corp. Vice Chairman of NACSPAC: Dave Carpenter, president and CEO of Urbandale, Iowa-based J.D. Carpenter Cos. Inc. Vice Chairman of Technology: Patrick Lewis, partner of Twin Falls, Idaho-based Oasis Stop 'N Go Convenience Stores. Vice Chairman of Government Relations: Brad Call, general counsel and executive vice president of human resources, public relations and adventure culture of North Salt Lake, Utah-based Maverik Inc.. Vice Chairman of Member Services: Jack Kofdarali, president of Corona, Calif.-based J&R Oil Co. Vice Chairman of Research: Fran Duskiewicz, senior executive vice president for Canastota, N.Y.-based Nice N Easy Grocery Shoppes Inc. Vice Chairman of Convention: Steve Loehr, vice president of operations support for LaCrosse, Wis.-based Kwik Trip Inc.

Click hereto read their biographies.

Also on the NACS Executive Committee are 2009-10 NACS chairman Ricker and 2008-09 NACS chairman Sonja Hubbard, CEO of E-Z Mart Stores Inc., Texarkana, Texas.

At the conclusion of the NACS Show, Miller is succeeding Jay Ricker as the 2010-2011 NACS chairman.

NACS also has announced five retail members to serve on its board of directors. The new members assumed their positions during the NACS board meeting at the NACS Show in Atlanta.

The NACS retail members elected to serve on the board are:

Rahim Budhwani, CEO of 6040 LLC, Hoover, Ala. Wendy Chronister, CEO of Chronister Oil Co., Springfield, Ill. Frank Gleeson, retail director of Topaz Energy Group, Dublin, Ireland. Jeff Parker, president, Kwik Shop Inc., Hutchinson, Kansas. Peter Tedeschi, president and CEO of Tedeschi Food Shops, Rockland, Mass. A member-driven organization, NACS is lead by a 30-member board, 28 industry retailers are elected to the board, including two retailers from non-North American countries. In addition, the chairman and chairman-elect of the NACS Supplier Board also serve on the board of directors.

Members help make our journalism possible. Become a CSP member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.

Want breaking news at your fingertips?

Get today’s need-to-know convenience industry intelligence. Sign up to receive texts from CSP on news and insights that matter to your brand.


More from our partners