General Merchandise/HBC

CSP Names 2023 Category Manager of the Year Finalists

Voting open across 8 categories; winners to be named during CRU conference
CSP's Category Manager of the Year finalists 2023
Image: CSP

CSP is proud to announce the finalists in its 2023 Category Manager of the Year (CMOY) Awards, nominated by the convenience-store supplier community. These are the best of the best from independent, midsize and large chains across the United States.

Between now and Jan. 31, CSP is asking supplier partners to cast their votes to recognize the c-store industry’s finest category managers. Winners are chosen in eight key c-store segments. Winners will be announced during the 2023 Convenience Retailing University conference, to be held Feb. 28-March 2 in Orlando, Fla. The winners will be featured in a special section of CSP magazine’s April issue.

“2023 represented a third year of distribution challenges and slow new-product development in most categories. That requires category managers to be vigilant and move quickly to meet consumers’ needs,” said Steve Holtz, editor-in-chief of CSP. “It’s great to see these retailers earn the recognition they deserve for driving sales and building traffic for their chains, and working with their suppliers to make the absolute best of a difficult situation.”

Suppliers nominated dozens of potential finalists at the end of 2022 and, with the help of CSP editors, finalists were chosen based not only on bottom-line results, but also on the knowledge and forecasting abilities of these category managers, who arguably know more about today's consumer than anyone else.

The 2023 finalists for Category Manager of the Year are:

Behind the Counter/Tobacco 
Kraig KnudsenCircle K
Alex KupperThorntons
Michael TireyCircle K
Center Store 
Brad ConnellThorntons
Leslie CrewsThe Spinx Co.
Charles IszardCrossAmerica Partners
Dispensed Beverages 
Jarrod MorrillParkland USA
Jim RastetterGPM Investments
Drew Whitefield7-Eleven
Savannah JohnsonPilot Co.
Ben LuckyWills Group|Dash In
Kate WeismanEG America
Mohammad AmadCircle K
Sarah BlodgettCasey's General Stores
Brad PetersenKum & Go
General Merchandise/HBC 
Anne JohnsonWalmart Fuel
Shane PerryCrossAmerica Partners
Aubrey ThornockMaverik
Packaged Beverages-Alcohol 
DeeDon BatesYesway
Shane MabryGPM Investments
Tim SchusterMurphy USA
Packaged Beverages-Nonalcohol 
Joseph BrumfieldLa Lomita
Jim JackoCoen Markets
Mike OrwatG&M Oil Co.

Click here to vote for the finalists. The 2023 Category Manager of the Year Awards are sponsored by Altria Group Distribution Co. Click here to see last year’s winners.

CSP’s 2023 Convenience Retailing University conference will dig deep into category sales trends and best practices. We’ll also name our Category Managers of the Year. Click here to register now.

Members help make our journalism possible. Become a CSP member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.


Exclusive Content


Convenience Stores Speak Out Against New York Tobacco Proposals

Lawmakers reject flavored tobacco ban, accept cigarette tax increase, but negotiations not over yet


Driving EV Owners Into the C-Store

3 ways to encourage customers to charge on their credit cards while charging their cars


Vuse Solo Menthol Can Remain on Market Pending Further Developments

Court stays FDA’s marketing denial order of R.J. Reynolds Vapor Co.’s tobacco product


More from our partners