General Merchandise

Finalists Named for CSP’s 2017 Category Manager of the Year Awards

Suppliers to choose top managers across nine vital c-store categories

CHICAGO -- Polls are now open for CSP magazine’s second-annual Category Manager of the Year awards.

Between now and Jan. 3, CSP is asking suppliers to cast their votes at www.CSPDailyNews.com/CategoryManagerAward to elect the c-store industry’s finest category managers. Winners will be announced at a special ceremony during the 2017 Convenience Retailing University, to be held Feb. 22-24, and will be featured in a special section of CSP’s 2017 Category Management Handbook.

“Category managers are the driving force behind the growth of the convenience-store industry,” said Jim Bursch, executive vice president of business development, convenience, for Winsight LLC. “These category ‘CEOs’ deserve the recognition for their roles. We’re proud to do just that with our Category Manager of the Year program.”

Suppliers nominated finalists earlier this year based not only on bottom-line results, but also the extraordinary dedication displayed in staying on top of trends, introducing new lines and offering unique solutions to everyday category challenges.

The honor of Category Manager of the Year will be bestowed on one person from each of nine product categories:

Alcohol Beverages

  • Joe Fugazzi, Kroger C-Store Division
  • John Deichler, Murphy USA
  • Richard Ginther, Kum & Go


  • Felix Oliu, Murphy USA
  • Krisanne Flamini, Wawa
  • Timothy Young, Newcomb Oil – Five Star

Dispensed Beverages

  • BJ Reed, Speedway – Marathon Petroleum
  • Connie Kelehan, Kum & Go
  • Greg Lorance, Cumberland Farms
  • Shawn Barnes, 7-Eleven


  • Ben Boulden, Kum & Go
  • Matt High, 7-Eleven
  • Michael Lane, CST Brands – Corner Store
  • Robert Wolf, Bosselman – Pump & Pantry
  • Tara Anderson, Holiday Stationstores

General Merchandise/HBC

  • Denny Sharma, Circle K West Coast
  • Richard Ginther, Kum & Go
  • Steven Desautels, Murphy USA
  • Tad Menoes, Circle K Great Lakes


  • George Antonsen, Holiday Stationstores
  • Mike Nelson, Mapco – Delek U.S. Holdings
  • Phil Wilhelm, 7-Eleven

Packaged Beverages

  • Damian Wyatt, Mapco – Delek U.S. Holdings
  • Dana Sump, Casey’s General Stores
  • Misti Mason, Circle K Southeast
  • Steven Jones, Sunoco Inc. – Energy Transfer Partners


  • Kurt Fraschetti, Circle K Great Lakes
  • Tim Burner, Holiday Stationstores
  • William Slattery, Circle K Midwest


  • Anne Flint, Cumberland Farms
  • Jodi Gehrts, Kum & Go
  • Joe O’Connor, Holiday Stationstores
  • Mike LaBerteaux, Walters-Dimmick Petroleum – Johnny’s
  • Ruth Ann Lilly, Sunoco Inc. – Energy Transfer Partners

Suppliers can cast their votes between now and Jan. 3, at www.CSPDailyNews.com/CategoryManagerAward.


More from our partners