Sunoco Inc. is one of the largest transportation-fuel providers with operations located primarily in the East Coast and Midwest regions of the United States, especially the Interstate 95 corridor. The company sells transportation fuels through more than 5,000 branded retail locations in 26 states and the District of Columbia. The highest concentrations of outlets are located in Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The company also operates several convenience-store brands, including APlus, MACS and Tigermarket in about 20 states.

In 2015, retail marketing headquarters moved to Newtown Square, a Philadelphia suburb. The company has plans to rebrand the MACS stores and Tigermarket stores to APlus over the coming months. Richmond, Va.-based MACS (Mid-Atlantic Convenience Stores) was acquired in late 2013. It operates in Maryland and Virginia. With a network of approximately 300 company-owned and dealer locations, in addition to its wholesale fuel distribution network, MACS is one of the largest ExxonMobil fuel marketers in the United States.

In 2014, Sunoco affiliates acquired Susser Holdings Corp. (Texas) and its retail operations, and 40 Tigermarket stores (Tennessee), bringing the total to more than 5,000 convenience stores mostly along the East Coast, in the Great Lakes region, and in and around Texas. Most Tigermarkets are located in and around Nashville, Tenn. There are two sites in Georgia. The Stripes stores are managed through Sunoco LP.

More than 40 new Stripes stores were added in 2015, all with Laredo Taco locations, and current plans for 2016 include at least 40 more sites. The APlus c-store brand is primarily in the Northeast and, with the MACS rebranding, will also have sites in the Mid-Atlantic region. The MACS stores had been licensed as Circle Ks until the sale to Sunoco.

Headquarters:Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
No. of Stores:1309
Average Store Size:2,500-4,000 sq. ft.
Rank Last Year:7
States of Operation: Connecticut, Delaware, District Of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia