Alimentation Couche-Tard Inc. is the largest convenience-store operator in Canada and has a considerable presence in the United States and around the world. Laval, Quebec-based Couche-Tard's network includes about 8,000 convenience stores throughout North America, with 6,556 that sell motor fuel. Its North American network consists of 14 business units, including 10 in the United States covering 41 states and the District of Columbia (under the Circle K and Kangaroo Express brands) and four in Canada covering all 10 provinces (under the Mac’s and Couche-Tard flags). The company also has a franchise division based in Arizona.

The 10th U.S. business unit—the South-Atlantic region—was added as a result of the purchase of The Pantry and its more than 1,500 stores. The Pantry of Cary, N.C., and its Kangaroo Express stores became a wholly owned subsidiary of Couche-Tard.

In September 2015, the company announced it would rebrand all stores to Circle K beginning in January 2016. The company also announced a new, global convenience brand, “Circle K,” and a new logo. The new Circle K brand will replace Couche-Tard’s existing Circle K, Statoil, Mac’s and Kangaroo Express branding on stores and service stations across Canada, the United States, Scandinavia, and Central and Eastern Europe. The new Circle K brand will also appear on licensed stores worldwide.

In 2014, Alain Bouchard stepped down from his role as president and CEO, turning those duties over to Brian Hannasch, the company's former chief operating officer. Bouchard remains as founder and executive chairman of the board.

Headquarters:Laval, Quebec
No. of Stores:7276
Average Store Size:2,500-4,000 sq. ft.
Rank Last Year:2
States of Operation: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Northwest Territories, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan