Kroger, the biggest supermarket operator in the United States, has six convenience store divisions with a combined 790 stores in 19 states. The divisions include Quik Stop Markets, Smith’s Express and Loaf N’ Jug in the west; Kwik Shop in the plains states; Turkey Hill Minit Markets in the Midwest; and Tom Thumb Food Stores in the Southeast.

Each division—c-store chains that Kroger acquired through the years—has its own headquarters and management team. Some corporate positions assist all divisions, such as foodservice, to help the chain maintain consistency and quality. Some programs are unique to each division's stores, and some are common across all Kroger c-stores. Most stores are owned and operated by the company, and some are franchised. Two-thirds of the sites are located in towns with fewer than 75,000 residents.

Kroger says its c-stores provide valuable synergies for the rapid expansion of its supermarket fuel centers. The stores offer a limited selection of Kroger private-label products, and some stores are served by Kroger distribution centers. New convenience stores range from 1,100 square feet to 5,800 square feet in size and are typically located on parcels of 1 to 2 acres. The new stores generally offer four to eight gasoline pumps. The convenience division has recently been testing a larger, 7,500-square-foot format designed to fill customers’ fill-in shopping needs with a large produce, grocery and foodservice offer.

No. of Stores:784
Average Store Size:1,000-2,500 sq. ft.
States of Operation: Alabama, California, Colorado, Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Wyoming